Counting Daisies – Nicola Haken

Dylan Roberts and Cameron O’Neil were good kids. Growing up together, they shared everything. By the age of fourteen they were more than best friends – they were in love. They dreamt of their future, of success, marriage…happiness. They were going to grow old by each other’s side.

But… “Kids are stupid.”

When tragic circumstances forced them apart, Dylan discovered that life wasn’t the fairytale he dreamed of; it was dark, difficult, saturated with pain and shame. Life wasn’t meant to be enjoyed, merely survived, but even that became a challenge.

Damaged, worthless, and disgusting, he saw no point to his pitiful existence…

Until he came face to face with the boy he used to love.

Successful, honourable, and happy, Cameron had achieved the future they planned. He was good, positive, popular…everything Dylan would never be. What would happen if Dylan let him back into his world? Would he destroy Cameron too? Would his poison push him away like everyone else?

“Everybody leaves.”

“They leave or they die.”

But what if…what if Cameron didn’t?

Counting Daisies is the first book in The Counting Series, but can be read as a standalone novel.

My review

I have read many books by Nicola Haken, each and every time she manages to make every one epic. This book touches on a very sensitive subject and yet again she nailed it. It is clear she has a real understanding of the subject matter and delved deep into her research for every aspect of this story.
The story of Dylan and Cameron breaks you down and builds you up again, it makes your heart hurt and burst with joy over the hurdles that Cameron and Dylan jump over to create their beautiful relationship.
I found this book to be hugely emotional, Dylan counting Daisies my goodness that broke me in two.
Counting Daisies is a story crafted so beautifully it has love, struggle, addiction, friendship, deep emotional bonds and so much more.
This is a must read and another wonderful m/m read from Nicola Haken.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *